“The silver apples of the moon,/the golden apples of the sun”

WB YEATS

Hazel wood was used in folk lore, among other things, to gain poetic inspiration.

I went out to the hazel wood, 

Because a fire was in my head…”


LINK to The Song of Wandering Aengus: https://www.google.com/amp/s/genius.com/amp/William-butler-yeats-the-song-of-wandering-aengus-annotated?client=safari

 
HE MOURNS FOR THE CHANGE THAT HAS COME UPON HIM AND HIS BELOVED, AND LONGS FOR THE END OF THE WORLD

O you not hear me calling, white deer with no horns?

I have been changed to a hound with one red ear;

I have been in the Path of Stones and the Wood of Thorns,

For somebody hid hatred and hope and desire and fear

Under my feet that they follow you night and day.

A man with a hazel wand came without sound;

He changed me suddenly; I was looking another way;

And now my calling is but the calling of a hound;

And Time and Birth and Change are hurrying by.

I would that the Boar without bristles had come from the West

And had rooted the sun and moon and stars out of the sky

And lay in the darkness, grunting, and turning to his rest.

 

Poems to read:

  • The Second Coming
  • A Dialogue of Self and Soul
  • Adam’s Curse
  • A Prayer for My Daughter 
  • A Prayer for My Son
  • O Do Not Love Too Long
  • When You Are Old
  • To A Young Girl
  • The Sorrow of Love
  • A Poet to His Beloved
  • He Wishes His Beloved Were Dead
  • All Things Can Tempt Me
  • Among School Children
  • Byzantium
  • Beggar to Beggar Cried
  • Broken Dreams


And many, many more. Find them here:  http://www.csun.edu/~hceng029/yeats/poemsalpha.html

Leave a Reply

